Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking books

A visionary new master class in cooking that distils

decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman, declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice.
Chef and writer Samin Nosrat have taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy.
Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavour; Fat, which delivers flavour and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavour; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious.
By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens.

With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.

Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavour by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.

Click Here To Buy This Book

Review

“Just reading Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will make you a better cook, adept at seasoning, balancing, understanding what it really is you’re doing and why… Make room on the bedside table—and the countertop.”, Bon Appetit

“I talk about Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat the way people talk about beloved pets or newborn babies; like I was a different person before I read it – and I was. I liked to eat but hated to cook.

I was a huge proponent of what I called “snack dinner,” basically whatever I had that didn’t require a cooking implement. Samin Nosrat (and illustrator Wendy MacNaughton) set me straight.

Together they debunk the concept of recipes, instead of teaching you how to build food (and flavour) from scratch and by instinct.

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat uses its eponymous guiding principles to chart a very delicious course toward never eating snack dinner again.”
, NPR.org

“My favourite meta cookbook…[Nosrat] offers a beautifully simple checklist for ensuring a dish ends up in a good place…This is the book of cooking grammar that so many novices would enjoy.

.Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is written smoothly and casually and kept breezy via charming watercolours by the perceptive Bay Area artist Wendy MacNaughton…Nosrat’s book would be of value both to people who don’t consider themselves cooks and to people actively striving to become better ones.”, Atlantic

“Inventively illustrated…ambitious…[Nosrat is] a talented explainer.”, Wall Street Journal

“A cookbook that will make you a better cook…with helpful, charming illustrations from artist Wendy MacNaughton.”, Boston Globe

“An exhaustively researched treatise on the four pillars of successful cooking.”, New York Times Book Review

“Hundreds of cookbooks are published each year. Some are good. Others are exceptional. A few are essential.

Samin Nosrat just published “Salt Fat Acid Heat — Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking” and I daresay this one is essential…That’s the fabulous thing about this book — it teaches readers about cooking, how to employ various techniques, and how to grasp that any subtle variations in technique can have significant impacts upon our end results.

It is possible to learn how to cook great food…This book is bound to become an indispensable addition to cookbook shelves throughout America.”, Dayton Daily News

“Nosrat’s beautiful, approachable book demonstrates how these four are the only elements necessary to make delicious meals anywhere, any time.” — Rapid City Journal

“Provides the cook with far more tools for branching out and exploring their own creative potential – and that makes it a standout.”, Midwest Book Review

“An excellent cookbook and culinary resource that pares down the idea that it only takes four ingredients to make food taste amazing.”, Belleville News-Democrat.

Click Here To Buy This Book

About the Author

Samin Nosrat is a writer, teacher, and chef. Called “a go-to resource for matching the correct techniques with the best ingredients” by The New York Times, and “the next Julia Child” by NPR’s All Things Considered, she’s been cooking professionally since 2000,
when she first stumbled into the kitchen at Chez Panisse restaurant. She lives, cooks, surfs, and gardens in Berkeley, California. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is her first book.

Wendy MacNaughton is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and graphic journalist whose books include Meanwhile in San Francisco (Chronicle), Pen & Ink (Bloomsbury).

The Gutsy Girl (Bloomsbury), and The Essential Scratch and Sniff Guide to Becoming a Wine Expert (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt). Her work appears in publications like The New York Times, Lucky Peach, Bon Appétit, AFAR Magazine, and elsewhere. She is the back page columnist for The California Sunday Magazine.

Click Here To Buy This Book

 

Leave a Reply